Befriending Death
Befriending Death Podcast
Listen: Am I Grieving Right?
0:00
-12:23

Listen: Am I Grieving Right?

Podcast Recording on grief, grief styles, and grieving non-death losses.

I gave up on waiting for a silent room to record, so you can hear my pets living their best life in the background, my apologies.

Read along with the essay here.

Take the grief styles quiz here.

I’m catching up on posting past essays as podcasts, so there will be an influx of podcasts episodes as I do so.

Love,

Alekz

Resources:

Attig, T. (2004). Disenfranchised Grief Revisited: Discounting Hope and Love. OMEGA - Journal of Death and Dying, 49(3), 197-215.

Black, A. (2024). (Unpublished Zoom Workshop, Feb. 23, 2024)

Buckley, T. et al. (2012) Effect of Early Bereavement on Heart Rate and Heart Rate Variability. The American Journal of Cardiology, Volume 110(9), 1378-1383.

Doka, K.J (2017). Grief is a Journey: Finding Your Path Through Loss. New York Atria Paperback.

Doka, K.J., Martin, T.L. (2010). Grieving Beyond Gender: Understanding the Ways Men and Women Mourn, Revised Edition. Routledge.

hooks, b. (1999). All About Love: New Visions. William Morrow.

Rando, T.A. (1984). Grief, Dying, and Death: Clinical Interventions for Caregivers. Champaign, Ill: Research Press Co.

Selinger, I. (2021, April 22). What Happens in the Body During Grief. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/22/well/what-happens-in-the-body-during-grief.html

Discussion about this podcast

Befriending Death
Befriending Death Podcast
"It takes courage to befriend death."
-bell hooks